Tackling waste: unveiling the black spot menace in Bengaluru

Hello!!!

I am Aryan Ghose and I am currently studying in Christ University, Bengaluru. I am currently doing a dual degree consisting of BCOM and ACCA( Association of Chartered Certified Accountants).

About a month ago I had started interning for Reap Benefit. The work they did intrigued me as they helped solving the major issues in our environment that not many people take action towards or even talk about. I wanted to work on waste management as I believe that even though India is the highest populated country it does not give it an excuse to be highly polluted . This is very important to me as the blackspots not only affect the lifestyle of the residents but also puts a bad impression on the tourists who expect certain decency regarding cleanliness while visiting .

PROBLEM STATEMENT:

Although the waste management in BTM layout stage 1 is fairly regular , there is a lot of garbage consisting of wet and dry waste( around 5-6 kgs) thrown in and around the area . The locals dump their waste during the night so they don’t get scolded and fined by the authorities( waste collectors and police officers). The locals are lower and upper middle class people. Waste segregation is regular in this area. The areas where the locals dump their waste as they find it convenient and those spots become a black spot overtime. This blackspot does not affect anyone at the moment but if it is let to expand it can cause a major problem for the residents , shopkeepers as well as garbage collectors in the future such as life threatening diseases, road block etc.

DISCOVER: